top of page

Love, do good, bless, pray, offer, do not withhold, do not demand, lend, be merciful, stop judging,

Love, do good, bless, pray, offer, do not withhold, do not demand, lend, be merciful, stop judging, stop condemning, forgive, give. Half of this Sunday's Gospel is in the imperative mood, meaning Jesus is telling me to do these things, not merely suggesting or recommending I do them. They are a must if I want His kingdom alive in my heart.

Yet how many times do I find myself questioning Jesus and doubting His words. Love my enemies? Love those who have done me wrong and hurt me? Do good to those who hate me? But that's not what I see on TV, social media, my own family, among my friends, and lest I dare say even at Church sometimes. So are you really serious when you say these words, Jesus? I mean, this is the complete opposite of what our world teaches! Bless and pray for those who curse and mistreat me? Now you're kidding, right? So besides forgiving and being merciful, I have to also ask you to bless those who mistreat me?

But I know you're right, Jesus. What credit is it to me if I only love those who love me? Isn't loving those who love me what our world teaches? Yet, you have overcome the world, and you didn't overcome it by choosing to love those who loved you. You overcame the world by loving those who sold you, betrayed you, arrested you, scourged you, nailed you, killed you, and pierced you. "Father, forgive them, they know not what they do.” -Luke 23:34

When I doubt and fear and hesitate to live out your commands, help me believe in your words- "Forgive and you will be forgiven.Give, and gifts will be given to you;a good measure, packed together, shaken down, and overflowing,will be poured into your lap.For the measure with which you measure will in return be measured out to you.” Luke 6:35-36

Jesus, I have experienced the peace that comes with giving even when I don't want to, the freedom that's unleashed with forgiving when I thought it was impossible, and the joy of loving those I didn't think I could. When I want to hold on tightly to my pain, my time, my gifts, my memories remind me of that good measure that will be packed together, shaken down, and poured into my lap. Amen.

bottom of page